National Honor Society

The purpose of the National Honor Society shall be to create enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire for service, to promote leadership, and to encourage the development of character in students at our high school.

Active members of the National Honor Society must:

  • Maintain a 4.0 cumulative GPA and all leadership, character and service expectations.
  • Attend all meetings, which are held bimonthly and special meetings when necessary.
  • Participate in the chapter’s yearly group service project.
  • Participate in an individual service project of your choosing.

The faculty considers four areas when deciding who is admitted to the National Honor Society:

  • Character—Faculty members will consider candidates on the basis of honesty, reliability and industry; as well as the student’s ability to exemplify St. Mary’s four pillars – Catholic, Excellence, Integrity and Respect – and how they demonstrate honor and pride in being a St. Mary's student.
  • Service—Candidates must show evidence of school and community involvement, acceptance of family responsibilities, a willingness to support the National Honor Society through school projects and activities. The candidate must demonstrate a true Christian spirit of sacrifice, being willing to give oneself to help others.
  • Leadership—The candidate will maintain a positive attitude and inspire positive behaviors in others. The candidate is an individual who represents what t means to be reliable, responsible and resourceful. The candidate will be self-motivated and effective in working towards his/her full potential.
  • Scholarship—Members of the St. Mary’s Chapter will be able to be admitted to the National Honor Society at the beginning of their junior year if they have earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher at the time of inductions. The candidate must also demonstrate a commitment to excellence by good attendance and effort in all of his/her classes.

Admittance into the National Honor Society is an honor and a privilege that is open to every student at St. Mary’s High School. The Faculty Council have established the criterion for acceptance (above) and admit all students who they decide meet those criteria. There are both objective and subjective components to the decision process.

Induction Process

  • During the beginning of each school year, Candidate Information packets will be given to each junior and senior that has at least a 4.0 GPA. These packets assist the Faculty Council in their decision.
  • Candidate Information Forms must be returned by the deadline each year for consideration by the Faculty Council.
  • The Faculty Council reviews the provided information and then votes on each eligible candidate. A candidate needs three affirmative votes to be granted membership in the NHS.
  • Following voting, candidates will be notified if they were accepted into the National Honor Society or not.
  • Those students that were accepted will be inducted into the Society at the induction ceremony. Students not accepted can reapply during their senior year (if currently a junior) or appeal the decision to the school principal.
For questions or more information, please contact:

Mike Jalbert
NHS Advisor